• Home /
  • Blog / Lewisham Labour backs a Remain vote in June

Lewisham Labour backs a Remain vote in June

On June 23rd Lewisham residents will get to have their say on whether we remain in the European Union. It is the biggest decision we have had to face in a generation, with profound consequences for our future. 

We believe that our country is stronger, safer and better off in the European Union. 

In an increasingly globalised world, being a member of the EU gives us a seat at the top table and enhances our influence. Many of the challenges we face – from climate change to terrorism – can only be dealt with by working together with our neighbours. 

Millions of British jobs are linked to our EU membership – 650,000 in London alone. The EU is our biggest export market; almost half of the goods and services we sell abroad – worth £227 billion every year – go to the EU. Our membership of the EU is not just good for businesses; it’s good for working people too. It has helped strengthen and extend rights at work; from paid holidays and paid maternity and paternity leave to equal pay and protection from discrimination. If we leave, this could be put at risk. 

Lewisham Council has benefited from millions of pounds of EU funding to tackle unemployment, promote skills and support integration. 

The EU is not perfect – nothing is. But our membership has been hugely beneficial and we face a far brighter future if we remain in the EU and work together to tackle its imperfections. We won’t be able to change it from the outside. Leaving the EU would lead to huge uncertainty; it would damage our economy, risk jobs, and undermine rights at work. 

Over the next six weeks, we will be campaigning hard across Lewisham to make the case for staying in the EU. We sincerely hope that local residents will join us in voting to stay in the EU.

Mayor Steve Bullock

Heidi Alexander MP

Jim Dowd MP

Vicky Foxcroft MP

Len Duvall AM  

Cll Obajimi Adefiranye

Cllr Abdeslam Amrani

Cll Chris Barnham

Cllr Peter Bernards

Cllr Chris Best

Cllr Kevin Bonavia

Cllr Andre Borne

Cllr David Britton

Cllr Suzannah Clarke

Cllr Liam Curran

Cllr Janet Daby

Cllr Brenda Dacres

Cllr Amanda De Ryk

Cllr Joe Dromey

Cllr Damien Egan

Cllr Colin Elliott

Cllr Alan Hall

Cllr Carl Handley

Cllr Maja Hilton

Cllr Simon Hooks

Cllr Mark Ingleby

Cllr Stella Jeffrey

Cllr Liz Johnstone Franklin

Cllr Alicia Kennedy

Cllr Roy Kennedy

Cllr Helen Klier

Cllr Jim Mallory

Cllr Paul Maslin

Cllr David Michael

Cllr Joan Millbank

Cllr Jamie Milne

Cllr Hilary Moore

Cllr Pauline Morrison

Cllr John Muldoon

Cllr Olurotimi Ogunbadewa

Cllr Rachiel Onikosi

Cllr Crada Onuegbu

Cllr Jacq Paschoud

Cllr John Paschoud

Cllr Pat Raven 

Cllr Joan Reid

Cllr Gareth Siddorn

Cllr Jonathan Slater

Cllrt Alan Smith

Cllr Eva Stamirowski

Cllr Paul Upex

Cllr James-J Walsh

Cllr Susan Wise 

Do you like this post?

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.